Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks: Beach+Food+Perfect Man=Romance

By: Christy

With the release of Nicholas’ Sparks most recent book-turned-move, Safe Haven, I felt inspired to post about the book. Even though there are a few unique (and by unique I mean unique to Nicholas Sparks’ usual story line, not unique compared to all fiction) elements, the story offers your basic Nicholas Sparks experience: predictable outcomes, Safe Haven book cover: quaint settings,  love, heartbreak, tears, love again, and of course the most beautiful woman and the most perfect man. I knew what I was getting into when I picked up this book, and I welcomed the Sparks’ experience; however, above all of the clichéd dialogue and contrived plot lines, there was one scene where I just couldn’t suspend my disbelief. The scene that had me saying “Seriously?! This would never happen!” took place at the beach (coincidentally it’s on this single, beach date that our two romantic leads fall deeply in love) when Alex, the most perfect-caring-brave-handsome-and tragic (he lost his wife a few years before) man prepares lunch for his kids. Katie, the beautiful and mysterious newcomer to town, is invited to go to the beach with Alex and his family.

Katie watches… “As Alex began rummaging through the cooler, Katie noticed the sinewy muscles of his forearms. [Alex says] “I was thinking hot dogs for Josh, a cheeseburger for Kristen, and for you and me, steaks.”

Seriously?! What dad brings separate meats for his kids? I mean, I can understand bringing the extra food for the adults, but to bring 1 lone burger and a couple of hot dogs, and not just all burgers and all hot dogs for the kids… That doesn’t even make sense! I suppose Sparks’ has Alex do this so Katie can tell how sensitive he is, but let’s face it; it’s more than a little unbelievable. Alex then proceeds to ask Katie to “pull out the tablecloth and set the table”—Really? This guy even packed a tablecloth! If my husband ever packed a tablecloth, I’d be more than a little suspicious.  I don’t think I need to even comment on his sinewy and muscular arms; you get the picture.

Anyway, Sparks’ clearly knows what he’s doing: he’s a bestselling author with very loyal fans who eagerly await each new (and predictable) release.

To follow up, since eating burgers is a big part of this book, I thought I’d post some basic directions for making Greek Burgers.

Ingredients

1 lb lean ground beef (or turkey)

Flatbread or pita bread

Greek yogurt (1/2 cup)

Diced cucumber

Tomatoes, sliced or diced

Kalamata olives, sliced

Red onion, sliced or diced

feta cheese, crumbled

Dill (optional)

 Directions

  1. Prepare burger patties and cook on the grill to desired doneness.
  2. In a dish, mix the Greek yogurt with the diced cucumber. If desired add dill.
  3. Fill the pita or top the flatbread with the feta cheese, cucumber, tomatoes, onion, and yogurt sauce.
  4. Add the burger, and enjoy.
About melanieandchristy

Follow us on twitter: @christy_melanie
This entry was posted in Easy preparation, Nicholas Sparks, Safe Haven, sandwiches, Summer dishes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks: Beach+Food+Perfect Man=Romance

  1. For a minute, I was worried you were going to let the “sinewy” arm line fly without remark…whew!
    ~ Melanie

Leave a Reply

