How to Make Fried Conch: The real power of the conch? Crispy deliciousness

By: Melanie

I’m often asked what book made me realize my desire to write and be an English teacher. A nearly impossible question. My mom, like me, is an obsessive reader, a book club member, and general lover of literature. So, from the time I was little, I poured over “the classics”—the Ramona series, Anne of Green Gables, and of course… anything and everything Sweet Valley Twins.

While I loved books, I thought they were just a hobby. Until my senior year of high school. My teacher was Ms. Cole and most of the class wasn’t a fan—they thought she was too tough. During her discussions of symbol and theme, they accused her of “making stuff up.” Predictable…I’ve heard similar comments from my own students. But Ms. Cole didn’t water down the discussions. She didn’t cheapen the text.

Two books stood out to me that term: Heart of Darkness and Lord of the Flies. I read each twice in the time it took the rest of the class to read them once (if at all); I just wanted to really understand. But most of all, I was amazed by the beauty of the words. These are two novels I still find impossible to read without subconsciously (in true Arthur Dimmesdale, fashion), placing a hand over my heart.

Simply put, and cliché as it may be, these books changed me. It made me realize that my love of literature was more than a hobby.

Shifting gears…food is obviously essential to the plot and theme of Lord of the Flies. The boys survive on fruit, mostly, until they begin hunting pigs.  If you were expecting a yummy fruit salad or honey glazed ham recipe, I’m sorry to disappoint you.  I’ve opted to go in a slightly different direction: Conch. Fried conch, to be exact. I can think of no better way to highlight the theme than cookin’ up the novel’s symbol of democracy and devouring it, leaving only a little pile of crumbs behind.

Fried Conch

Ingredients:

½ lb Cleaned, skinned conch

1 Egg, lightly beaten

½ cup  All-purpose flour

¼ cup  Corn meal

1 tsp    Salt

1 tsp    Pepper

1 tsp    Paprika

Vegetable Oil

Cocktail or tartar sauce (depending on your preference)

 
 
 

 

Proof that this recipe is good: this pic was taken about three minutes after the first

Directions:

 

Fill deep pot with vegetable oil and heat to 350 degrees.

Using a mallet, pound conch to 1/8 inch thickness. Cut into 1” strips.
Add conch to beaten egg. Toss lightly to coat thoroughly.
Dredge conch in flour mixture until well coated.
Using a spoon, carefully drop conch into oil.
Cook approximately 3 minutes or until the conch float to the top and are golden brown.
Drain well on paper towels or newspaper.

Serve with sauce.

***Note: depending on where you live, Conch may be a little hard to come by. This recipe can be used with scallops or shrimp. If you do substitute the protein, just skip step two (do not pound with a mallet).

About melanieandchristy

Follow us on twitter: @christy_melanie
This entry was posted in Easy preparation, Lord of the Flies, Seafood, Summer dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to Make Fried Conch: The real power of the conch? Crispy deliciousness

  1. Janelle says:

    Um, what exactly does conch taste like? Shrimp? Chicken? I’m intrigued and disturbed.

  2. Are you asking the vegetarian what conch tastes like? No clue–but Brian loves it. But I wouldn’t worry about–I don’t think you’d have much luck finding conch in ‘Rado.

  3. Sergio Gonzalez says:

    I love conch. Conch is really good in Peruvian style ceviche.

  4. Deep Heat says:

    Hello there, I discovered your web site via Google at the same time as looking for a comparable matter, your web site got here up, it appears to be like good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

Leave a Reply

