How to Make Strawberry Vanilla Coconut Layer Cake: a ‘gone right’ version of Anne of Green Gables’ treat gone wrong

By: Christy

As previously mentioned, I’m not much of a baker. I like to mix ingredients without paying attention to amounts which is not a great trait for a baker. Baking is a precise science…but unlike the study of science, there isn’t much room for experimenting.

I try so hard to do well when baking, and often, to my chagrin I forget a critical step like sifting the flour, or I forget to add a critical ingredient, like, say, I dunno, flour? I share my worry over baking with one of my all-time favorite, childhood heroines, Anne of Green Gables. Anne wants to impress everyone at the church picnic with a delicious layer cake, and is so worried about her seemingly impossible task, she asks her bff, Diana, “Oh Diana, what if it shouldn’t be good? I dreamed last night I was chased all around by a fearful goblin with a big layer cake for its head?”

I can relate.

When Diana tries to temper her worries, Anne, still unsettled, quips, “Yes, but cakes have such a terrible habit of turning out bad just when you especially want them to be good.”

Once again, I can relate. However, I have a few successful cake baking stories, and in honor of the irrepressible Anne, I thought I’d share a recipe I developed (yes, I suppose there is some room for experimenting in baking) for a strawberry-vanilla, coconut, layer cake I baked a few years ago for my husband’s birthday.  (Note: he loved it, even though it wasn’t his all-time favorite dessert—banana crème pie).

One of the great things about this recipe is that it involves modifications using boxed mixes!

Strawberry-Vanilla, Coconut Layer Cake

Ingredients:

1 yellow cake mix (I like Duncan Hines)

1 box of instant strawberry jello mix

1 box of instant vanilla pudding mix

8 oz of fresh strawberries, slicedstrawberries

1 container whipped topping (Cool Whip), unfrozen

1 bag of coconut flakes

2 cups milk (for the pudding)

1/3-1 c. vegetable oil (for the cake mix)

Eggs (amount varies—see cake mix)

water

Directions:

  1. Prepare the instant vanilla pudding according to instructions. Chill.
  2. Prepare the cake mix according to directions on the box. Bake in two, 9-inch, round baking cake pans.
  3. Once the cake is baked, remove it from the oven, and let it cool for a approx. 10 minutes.
  4. Poke holes in the top of the cake with a toothpick.
  5. Now, prepare the jello by mixing the power with hot water (according to package directions). Do NOT add the cold water yet (you don’t want the jello to jell)
  6. Add the remaining water, and drizzle half of the liquid jello over the cakes in stripes. The liquid should ooze into the toothpick holes, creating a striped design within the cake.
  7. Place one of your cakes on a cake platter.
  8. Poke more holes in the cake, this time with the end of a wooden dowel.
  9. Now, spread the vanilla pudding over the cake, letting the pudding fill the new holes. (You do not have to use all of the pudding here).
  10. Top the cake with the second tier.
  11. Repeat steps 8-9.
  12. Spread the whipped topping over the entire cake, including the sides.
  13. Sprinkle with coconut flakes
  14. Decorate with sliced strawberries.
  15. Optional** If you want to add sliced strawberries and coconut in between layers, you may.

strawberry-vanilla, coconut layer cake Make sure you refrigerate the cake or serve immediately. This cake will be incredibly moist, sweet, and light. Did I forget to mention, it’s white fluffy, mound of sheer beauty? Enjoy!

About melanieandchristy

Follow us on twitter: @christy_melanie
This entry was posted in Anne of Green Gables, Cake, Desserts, Easy preparation, summer desserts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Make Strawberry Vanilla Coconut Layer Cake: a ‘gone right’ version of Anne of Green Gables’ treat gone wrong

  1. Pingback: The Perfect Holiday Cocktail: A Clockwork Orange Vodka Fizz | Book Eats

Leave a Reply

