How to Make Flavored Coffee: Spice up your morning

By: Melanie

I love coffee. I love everything about it. But, for a coffee freak, I am, perhaps surprisingly, not one of those people who wander out of bed needing that jolt of caffeine in order to start the day.

For me, it’s not really about the caffeine. This fact was reinforced since I’ve given up

I realize this is a horrible picture, but this documents the best coffee i've EVER had. It made my trip to Portugal!

caffeine all together. I just love the routine of it all: I like squeezing and smelling the bags at the market—debating what kind to try next. I love the daily preparation and the aroma that fills the kitchen as it brews. I love deciding which mug to use. (Most of my mugs were purchased on vacations; others had been favorites of my parents that I stealthily tucked into boxes when I moved away to college.) And, of course, I do love the taste.    

The sense of routine—of normalcy—that a daily cup of coffee can provide is, perhaps, what Claire and Henry seek in The Time Travelers Wife. Frankly, it seems the two of them are never not drinking coffee; the word “coffee” is written 64 times throughout the novel. It’s even important enough to be given a place on the cover art in the form of a blue picnic thermos.

Claire and Henry drink coffee socially, and it’s, of course, present during their most unusual…I guess we’d call it…“courtship.” Upon Henry’s returns from time travels, he always reaches for a cup. Claire, similarly, notices that after enjoying a steaming cup, things “[aren’t] so bad after all” (Niffengger 174).   

While that daily cup-o-joe can most definitely lend a sense of routine to the day, let’s face it: sometimes it’s nice to change things up a bit, too. Add a little spice. That’s where this recipe for Tropical Coffee comes into play. It’s the perfect pick-me-up on a cold winter’s day. Enjoy!

Tropical Coffee

Ingredients:

3        Tbsp ground vanilla flavored coffee

2      tsp sugar

1      tsp cinnamon

1      tsp cocoa

1      tsp dried tarragon

Pinch grated orange peel

Directions:

Combine all ingredients and then brew by your preferred method. Finish with milk or creamer as you desire.

Feeling feisty? Add a splash of kahlua.

About melanieandchristy

Follow us on twitter: @christy_melanie
This entry was posted in 5 ingredients or less, Beverages, Breakfast, Easy preparation, Healthy alternatives, The Time Traveler's Wife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Make Flavored Coffee: Spice up your morning

  1. Diana says:

    LOVE that you used this book :) I’ll have to try your recipe!

  2. Ms. Melanie!

    I haven’t spoken to you in a while and I decided to check out your blog! This sounds great; coffee has been my great friend as of recently! Plus tarragon is great in general! I loved your posts about MA and I am dying to go myself! That Danvers tip is interesting, I did not know that was the original Salem village site *hangs head in shame haha*. But anyway email me! This blog is fantastic just so you know!

    =)))

Leave a Reply

